MATCHMAKING AND TEACHERS…

Well, it’s happened again.  Contrary to my gut feeling (which is usually right), I agreed to work with a female teacher.  Why do I say this?  EVERY female teacher I have ever worked with in the past 25 years has, to put it gently, been a flake.

I’m specifically speaking of undergrad teachers, not professors at Universities or Colleges.  The most recent called for her FREE phone consultation at which time I quote her personal investment fee.  OBVIOUSLY it is wise to tell me anything that might possibly be a hindrance to your success, i.e., THREE divorces.  Had she been honest and forthcoming with that info, first of all I might not have even accepted her as that is a tough situation to overcome.  Second, I would have quoted her a lower investment fee because it is difficult to overcome.  But because she withheld that important fact I quoted her an appropriate fee for what she disclosed.

She arrived for the interview with the check already written.  When I reached the very early part of the questionnaire that asks about marriage(s) and divorces she told me to put down my pen while she explained.  Well it wasn’t like they were 2 month marriages, two were two years and one was five.  So they were actual marriages.  I explained she should have told me that and that might affect her success.  I also confided my difficulty working with teachers in the past and hoped that she would comply with the contracts she signed unlike the others.  She assured me she would.  It seemed she understood that Bon Jour Matchmaking Service is a matchmaking service and NOT a dating service.

She chose four men to meet and three declined, mostly due to a lack of attraction and/or the number of divorces.  One was currently involved with someone so he declined.  Hey, it happens.  Now she claims to have been fooled into this contract…I don’t remember locking her in my office and making her sign the contracts or forcing her to hand me a check rather than end the interview at that point and leave.

Three morals…one for me…NO MORE UNDERGRAD FEMALE TEACHERS!  The second for you…If you are hiring any type of service and it does not feel right to you, get up and walk out.  Don’t whine later that they misrepresented themselves to you.  YOU can always walk away.  The third for you…when you read negative reviews of companies, take them with a grain of salt as it just might be the customer/client, not the company who was the problem (unless there are multiple negative reviews).

 

 

Leave a Reply

